Ooo, That’s Lovely!

There are a host of adjectives and phrases used to describe my blog’s content:

“Wowza!” 

…or

“…potty-humor.”

How about …

“Cool beans.”

And my personal favorite,

“I’m going to seriously blow chunks.”

Then along comes Jess of A Winsome Journey.  She did the unexpected.  She called my blog lovely.  Lovely.

Awww. I just don’t know what to say!

Of course, I couldn’t agree more (not for the sake of my blog, though, but for my subjects).  In fact, she took one big step beyond lovely and nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award.  Thank you, Jess!  That means a lot coming from someone who has a truly lovely and beautiful blog.

Just for grins, I did an actual search of all of the comments that have ever happened upon my posts since January for the word “lovely.”  Until Jess, it happened exactly twice.  Both times the word was used in conjunction with someone’s feelings rather than to describe some facet of my blog.  That’s twice.  In four months of blogging.

Now, it’s fair to say that I think bugs, reptiles, drawings of stick figure people eating poop, and the stuff that comes out of bathroom sinks are all lovely in their own right.  I just never thought anyone else thought so too.  So Jess, it’s nice to know we’re on the same page here.

The Nominees.  In usual WordPress award-nominating fashion, there’s a hook.  I get to pass on the nomination to 7 bloggers whom I feel also are deserving of the award.  Since I only just created another (very long) award post just weeks ago, I will make this acceptance / passing-of-the-torch short and sweet.  If my blog is lovely, theirs surpass mine at break-neck speed.  If you haven’t already, be sure to drop in for a visit.  I so very much enjoy their loveliness.

Sarah Takes Pictures (lovely nature)

Becoming Cliche (lovely turtles)

Never Contrary (lovely southern charm)

From a Montana Front Porch (lovely family of 7 WOW)

Portraits of Wildflowers (lovely flowers)

Mommy Man (lovely parenting)

TuroK Like Food (lovely veggie delights)

Rules for the One Lovely Blog Award:

  1. Recognize the lovely nominating blogger and the award
  2. Nominate 7 bloggers for the award(s) and notify them
  3. Share 7 fun lovely facts about myself

7 Lovely Facts — How About 7 “Lovely” Photos Instead?

Lovely Orb Weaver Spider
Lovely Ox Beetle Larva
Lovely Keiko Peeing in the Toilet
Lovely John Eating Dirt
Lovely Scott Finds Mud
Ginny’s Lovely Blue Foot – (the day before she gets her new cast, obviously having outgrown this one)
Lovely Bat Eating Orange

* * *

Lovely, aren’t they?

20 thoughts on “Ooo, That’s Lovely!

  1. Thank you dear lady but your blog definately surpasses my crazy ramblings! You always make me smile and remind me of my family. Your pictures are lovely,( even that icky grub one), and your words always remind me to look for the beauty in the dirty things. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw, thanks Montana!! So very glad to post anything happy AND dirty. And you just HAD to go one-up me, huh, and the number of offspring? Nope, it seems we are much the same, just a few states apart. And now, a one-beautiful-baby difference.

      Like

  2. I’m just thinking how lovely it would be if the cats used the potty – I wouldn’t even mind if they forgot to flush – though I guess that would rob them of the joy they obviously get from flinging litter all over the place.

    Congrats on yet more recognition from your fellow bloggers. I, for one, find bugs, snakes, beasties that drink skin, and stick figures eating poop lovely – surprised I have never used the word here before.

    Like

  3. Well deserved! I’m pretty sure I wrote about your offer of warm beer as “lovely” didn’t I? Or maybe that was in an email?

    Aw, I remember you talking about having a cat who used the toilet. That’s so cute I can’t stand it. I’d go so far as to say “lovely” if it wasn’t for the fact that it involves defecating.

    Like

    1. Haha! Yes, warm beer; I think it was in an email or comment on KodakKerouacs. At least I’m kind enough to offer guests my cold brews.

      If we ever to have another house cat, I’m am SO teaching to eliminate in the commode. I’m not a fan of the litter box.

      Like

  4. Thank you again, Shannon! Your blog IS lovely. It doesn’t want to make me blow chunks at all. 😉 Except maybe that picture of the spider, though not for any photographic quality (it’s beautiful) but because of the creeping arachnophobia I try to keep at bay. (I think we’ve discussed this before. Anyway, I admire you for your lack of trepidation when it comes to our spider friends.) Cool collection of captures overall — sweet kid pictures, and fortuitous captures on the orange-eating bat and the larva.

    Like

    1. Don’t know what it is about spiders. I have several readers who concur with your phobia. Glad you stopped by. I’m hoping to be doing more photography-type posts this summer. Won’t have much time for writing, what with the kiddos home and all.

      Like

    1. She was easy. There’s a bit of a training process — 1-2 weeks time — of slowly moving the litter area up to the commode and then removing it. You’ll notice that there is still a litter box next to the toilet. That was for my other cat (the male) who would have nothing of the toilet thing. If I took the box away, he’d go find a spot in the middle of my bed and poop there. “How do ya like that? Now give me my box back.”

      So alas, I was still stuck with a litter box, even after all that. It was pretty cool, though, having a cat that peed in the potty.

      Like

  5. Silly girl, you and the love that you exude for your family ARE lovely…I don’t like bugs especially grub like bugs or stingy,bites bugs. Now messy sticky cute as all get out babies, I love love love.
    J

    Like

Say something. You know ya wanna.

