Move Over, Olympus

We call her “Beastie Girl.”  Last week, a Canon EOS 60D and Tamron 200-400mm telephoto lens got added to the expanding photography gadget list.  Like I need another thing.  Okay, well, it was painfully obvious I really did need this one.

Though I still prefer good old-fashioned field binoculars for spying on little birdies, snakes, and other things from afar, there’s nothing quite like being able to snap one for the album, say, to ID later at home or in the car.

Boy, can this camera take photos.  I can see why my birding friends like it so much.  What follows is fully processed by the camera as JPG’s — no additional software editing was done — ’cause who’s got time for that anyway?  (Sorry.  I don’t.)  Neither do I have time to review.  Thanks to the economical price and serious lens selection,  the 60D won hands down.  As I get more familiar with all its doohickeys and whatchamacallits, I’ll just go out and shoot when I can in auto mode.

The Olympus, fitted with a more general purpose zoom, will still be my go-to.  I’m not ready to retire it quite yet.

Ultimately, a Tamron 150-600mm is what will be fitted to this camera body.   Until then, this borrowed lens will be what I use for all the feathered beauties that grace my presence.  Judging from the looks and stares I’m getting from them, they are surprised to see me with something so…professional.

* * *

Daddy's Cooking Tonight
What?  Sunflower seed?  Again?!
Mmm. Road Kill.
Mmm. Road Kill.  Divine.
Who dat?
Whatcha got there, Lady?  A new lens?
Mama Cardinal
A little too close, Lady…
Ibis and Whistlers Take a Nap
Siesta Time (A Stealth Shot)
Chicadee's Got Several Mouths to Feed
Too many mouths to feed…gotta split.
Hello, Cutie.
Well, hello there, Cutie.

16 thoughts on “Move Over, Olympus

    1. This year is the first we’ve seen Cedar Waxwings regularly. Glad to know you thought of me and that I have you brainwashed for things other than dirt and trees. After seeing the Grosbeaks in the mulberries (LaFitte’s Cove), we are considering planting a couple in our yard. Just what I need. Another tree…

      Like

    1. Thanks, Rachel! Then I’ve met my goal. With the exception of the Caracara (road kill guy), all of these faces are regulars in my yard. I know them, they know me…intimately. The cardinal pair (as well as the wren, chickadee, and others) rear their young in our hedges every year and are quite accustomed to seeing me close up, just not with a two-foot-long lens pointed at them!

      Like

    1. Indeed, Jocelyn. I’m not much of a gadget person — I tend to make do and then fill the need after a long time of that. Let’s just say the time had come. If you clicked the LaFitte’s Cove link, you saw just how itty-bitty the birds are with my other camera fully zoom. Comical.

      Like

      1. I had read the LaFitte’s Cove post when you wrote it and that’s how my birds look too. I hadn’t had time to comment on that post but was amazed there was a little place like that to get such close encounters with so many varieties of birds. So glad you found out about it.

        Like

    1. I am going to LOVE getting to capture these beautiful creatures. The downside to my other camera is that, in order to get them to fill the frame, there needed to be some trust of me, being only a few feet from them. Now I can fill the frame with what seems like a chasm between.

      I do hope to capture a barred owl with this one. I’m hoping! Nice to have you here, Dad.

      Like

    1. The thanks be to you! Months in the making with that last little kick in the pants I needed to seal the deal. It always helps when the lens arrives BEFORE the camera body. All I had to do was charge the battery and scare up an SD card.

      That 400mm lens is fantastic, stabilization or no. I’m still keeping my eye on the 600mm prize, but the generous addition certainly helped get me jump started. I can NOT thank you enough. Cheers, my dear!

      Like

Say something. You know ya wanna.

