When a Kid Gets a Camera

Where is that SD card?  

The new camera arrived! It’s been a long time coming, and now it was time to play. But I needed a storage card. Hm…let me see where I can find one.

I rummaged through drawers, camera bag, any place I thought one might be. The last time I remembered using one was transferring John’s schoolwork from a crippled computer to ne that worked (so he could finish his assignment). We even used them to mail pictures to Granny before she passed. I know there are several in this house, why is it that a thing is never in its place when I need it?

A couple of Christmas’ ago, Scottie got a pocket camera. There’s bound to be an SD card in that. We last used it hiking during our Out West Adventure. I hoped I could put my hands on the camera…

Bingo! Out it came from the PowerShot and I placed it into the new Canon EOS body.

I’m just so excited to start using the new camera.

Hello there, Bob!
Hello there, Bob!

So this is what I saw on the unused camera’s LCD screen, pre-written on the SD card by a kid’s $50 camera. No kidding.

It’s Bob at TexasTweeties!!  It was taken during his and Ann’s trip out here last October, and Bob is that person responsible for getting me more serious about birding and photography. How fitting is that?  A moment, I feel, almost pre-destined to happen today.

I instantly smiled back at the LCD, and quietly thanked my son for having taken that shot so long ago.

Then I had another thought: What else is on this card that I don’t know about? As a mother, I should probably check these things more often than I do.

I do sometimes get a little irritated by a kids’ discovery-of-a-thing-gone-out-of-control. I recently had to turn off Apple’s photo sharing for the kids’ iPad, because they were doing more than their share of stop-motion films on it (there are four kids that engage in it). Hundreds of frames of photos, one shot at a time, several times a day.

The flood of little LEGO cities showing up on my phone was driving me crazy. Thank you, LEGO Movie.

So, click, click, and…click. Done, and done. No more photos. I hesitated only because that meant that any of the cutsie little single moments they created with the photo app would get the ax as well.

But the PowerShot is a one-shot camera. What other single shots are on that card, taken from a kid’s perspective?

Are they any good?

Should I save any of them?

Selfie. With truck.
Selfie. With truck.
Leopard Moth
Leopard Moth
Red-shouldered Hawk
Red-shouldered Hawk
Bike Ride
Bike Ride with Sisters
Storm Coming
Storm Coming
Luna Moth
Luna Moth
Something Changing
Something Changing

Perhaps I should.

It appears we have a budding photographer in the house.  Hey!  I wonder what the sBird Pro (Scottie’s nickname) could do with a Canon long lens?  Hm.

9 thoughts on “When a Kid Gets a Camera

    1. I agree with you, Rachael. Thanks for coming by to say so. And now that I’ve a new camera body to play with, I find the old DSLR in the hands of one my kids as well. They love it!

      Like

  1. Children can be very creative when given a camera.It is great that there was a picture of your friend on there that probably means Scottie admires this friend as well. I have one granddaughter that wants to be a photographer we gave her a camera around age 6 she was always taking pictures of something. Now of course she seems to use her phone all the time at age 11 but she still has that camera. You might want to order you some big SD cards for your new camera. They have really come down in price because now you can get a fast 16 GB for about $18.00.

    Like

  2. Wow, he is really good! I love seeing the world through the eyes of a young man. He really stops to see the beauty around him. This definitely needs to be nurtured!

    Like

  3. Great photos by Scottie. Not just saying that because I am in one of them. But, I must say, that is one of the best pictures of me that I have seen in a long time. As for you, dear Shannon, thank you so much for using it in this post, and thank you for all the nice things you said about me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Say something. You know ya wanna.

