Wacky Weather, Bunny Colic, and Everything’s Coming Up Onions

Sick Bunny Heals Up

Mordecai has emerged from the woods, and life with four kids and three bunnies is back to normal again. It was touch-and-go there for a few days, as we were concerned when he stopped eating, drinking, pooing. We knew something was up when he turned his nose to carrots and kibble. He was just sleeping all the time, even more than the usual 15 hours per day.

You’ve heard me say (read me write?) that bunnies are just like little horses. What the vet told me last week confirmed my conclusion. Unlike a horse, however, a bunny will typically recover from colic no worse for the wear with a bit of forced-feeding, laxative, and an intestinal lubricant — to the tune of $300 (yikes!). A horse, on the other hand, might very well lie down and die no matter how much money you throw at it. You can’t possibly force-feed a horse enough to sustain him, and once he lies down…well, it’s pretty much all over then.

Poor little horsie bunny. He did not take well to the week-long forced-feeding program.

After a few days, he was back to himself again, and he’s even forgiven me for the medicine trauma we both went through.

From a Springy-Winter…

Before the cold snap came upon us last night, our winter has been rather ‘light.’ Shooting these photos yesterday evening in the dim light that was the storm approaching, I was bundled up in shorts and flip-flops.

Mystery Tree Flowering

Loropetalum Pink Feather Explosion

First of the Wildflowers on an
Unkempt Lawn — Wild Onions

Redbud Tree in Full Blossom
(Even a Few Leaves)

New Fairy Neighbors Take Residence
at the Base of a Pecan Tree

…To a Wintery-Springy-Winter

Is it me, or does this fella need a jacket? The temps dropped from the high 70’s into the mid 30’s overnight, apparently juuuuust what we needed to entice Calliope Hummingbird in to our back porch feeder for a while. This is our first sighting of the year; Angie spotted him in the trees through the classroom window.

Calliope Hummingbird

Feeder Guarding

Through the same window we all watched in horror earlier in the week as a Cooper’s Hawk swooped in within feet of our eyes to dine on a most unfortunate Mourning Dove. He flew off before I could grab my camera. As the dove is a species who mates for life, I felt particularly mournful for his partner who survived him. Hopefully she will remember to be more watchful out in the open here in the future. In the eyes of the bird-eating hawk, the all-you-can eat bird buffet is always open for business. Watch your backs, little birdies, and stay near the shrubs.

I finally got the chance at photographing this Pileated Woodpecker after hearing his most distinctive call (click it!!) from across the creek. This is the best I could shoot with my lens extended all the way out to the 600mm focal length; as I’ve no time for processing, click on him to see a zoomed view. Here is video I shot — probably of the same guy — juvenile getting fed by a parent from a couple years back. We are fortunate to witness so many bird families raised on our property.

Pileated Woodpecker

Pileated Woodpecker
Checking Out Potential Nest Site?

Don’t forget to comment for you chance to win a DVD. Only 4 days left!

11 thoughts on “Wacky Weather, Bunny Colic, and Everything’s Coming Up Onions

  1. I started The Great Grass Removal today and saved any of the little wild onions I came upon to plant back in. I’m assuming they’re wild onions anyhow, having just seen your from afar. Now I shall Google…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Grass removal! How I love the sound of hose words on my lips. If it were up to me (and not my HOA) I would do much the same with about 1/3 of our lawn (aka front yard. Turf grass seems so unfashionable anymore, given what we know. Cheers, A. Happy digging!

      Like

  2. Yaaay for Mr Bunny.

    I love it how hawks are a regular feature in your day. Such endearing banshees. No wonder man-made music doesn’t tickle you anymore. Also, Pileated Woodpecker = Boss!

    Like

    1. Mr. Bunny thanks you, Christy. The hawks (and kites and eagles!) are amazing and they seem to love our stretch of woods on the creek. Did you see the video link of the Pileated Woodpecker getting fed? I was so lucky to get it…it was practically on the same tree this guy was checking out. I agree on ‘boss.’ Now that I know how to record sound, it is on my list of bird calls to record. Will get that guy one day soon…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I did not know bunnies could colic. I guess we learn something new every day. I love your Loropetalum we call them Chinese fringe my mom has one and wants more because the leaves are a beautiful color all year long. I would not mind having a few myself. We planted a redbud tree this last year can not wait to see if bloom.

    Like

    1. Yes, Sonya, just like horses, rabbits are grazing prey animals. The similarities are pretty uncanny, mouth, teeth, head shape, eye arrangement, ears, ability to run fast for sustained periods, not to mention their digestive tracts. When either one ‘colics,’ their instinct is to stop eating (much like we would), but that makes the matter much worse. Hay and oats being their main food helps any blockage move on through. The negative feedback loop is remedied with intervention like (you guessed it) forced-feeding.

      Just like babies. All I can say is thank goodness I don’t have a horse. LOL

      We have five well-established redbuds which blossom much sooner than the others around us. Yours should be showy in a couple year’s time, if not by now! “Chinese Fringe.” I like that. You are near Joseph’s Nursery, I think, which has these in gallon pots. I agree with your mom that the foliage is as pretty as the blossoms.

      Like

      1. If you’ve not ever been to Enchanted Forest south of the Brazos, it’s another wonderful plant place to go ‘hang out.’ Even my kids love that place!

        Like

Say something. You know ya wanna.

