9 thoughts on “Buyerarchy Of Needs

  1. Thanks for sharing this Shannon. This affects me, mindless consumerism. I saw this interesting video about a new way to do things – share, don’t buy. I have been researching on these issues a lot in my attempt to live lightly on the planet and I read this recently in George Monbiot’s website: ‘People in eastern Congo are massacred to facilitate smart phone upgrades of ever diminishing marginal utility. Forests are felled to make “personalised heart-shaped wooden cheese board sets”. Rivers are poisoned to manufacture talking fish. This is pathological consumption: a world-consuming epidemic of collective madness, rendered so normal by advertising and the media that we scarcely notice what has happened to us.’

    I think the concept of planned obsolescence is totally evil which has corrupted much of the technological advancements. For instance, I have an old smart phone on which I cannot book cabs and I refused to buy a new phone just for this. Have you seen the documentary The Light Bulb Conspiracy? It is heart- breaking to see how we have failed to see what we are doing. The world’s tech lust being dumped into thousands of dystopian lakes.
    http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20150402-the-worst-place-on-earth.

    Do you think things will change?

    Like

    1. For my children’s sake, and for the sake of THEIR children, it HAS to change! Thank you for sharing your thoughtful comment here. I hope you will be encouraged to share discussion in the future. Did you watch the videos on The Story of Stuff? It was a post from last year that I ‘stick-pinned’ to my home page for the holidays, right below this post. I will remove it soon, so if you can’t find it easily, click here (http://wp.me/p28k6D-1px).

      The linear consumption economy is broken and unsustainable, but it’s what America is built on. The biggest downside with sharing that I see (as an American) is that most people would have to go backwards, that is trade their convenience from something LESS. There would need to be an entity to facilitate this ‘sharing,’ of stuff much as a library shares books, or a camera store rents expensive lenses. There has got to be some accountability for a person not returning a thing; nothing is free.

      It’s a conundrum for sure. Thank you, IsyLLis, for coming by to share your thoughts. 😀

      Like

Say something. You know ya wanna.

