Vegan Pancakes, October Captured

“If we can live healthy, productive lives without bringing harm to others, why wouldn’t we?” ~ Jenny Brown

In my household, pancakes are the Elixir of Life.  The quickest of the quick breads, an energy-sucking oven not required.  I like to nibble on them at odd times of the day — not just for breakfast — and since they have the added bonus of being crumb-free, the kids can eat them at their desks.  (Without syrup, of course.)

You should try them dipped in warm curried butternut squash soup. They are so yummy I have a hard time calling them a health food.  To us vegans, though, they kind of are.

When I was still in my 20’s, I’d memorized my Mee-Maw’s recipe.  It was simple and easily fixed, especially on a hangover morning (of which there were many).  All that was needed was a quick trip to the grocery for some buttermilk, “sweet milk,” my Pee-Paw called it.  I wantonly chucked all the ingredients (flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, butter, egg, and buttermilk) into the same bowl, and poured cakes on the griddle while I sipped coffee.  I would buy a pint of fresh buttermilk just for this indulgent weekend pleasure, and chug or chuck the 3/4 cup left that remained, depending upon how bad my head hurt.

A few years ago, we went vegan.  Goodbye buttermilk. Mee-Maw’s pancakes officially went under construction.

For more than a year, I tried several combinations and permutations with hit-or-miss success. Turned out all I needed was a rotten banana.  With a non-animal-based buttermilk, a viable egg replacer (Ener-G brand), and a tweak to the flours (I added ground flax and swapped half the all-purpose flour with whole wheat), the result was a moist, tantalizing and not-too-flavorful mini-cake.

Whether or not you are interested in the benefits of being vegan, or even making your own milk (!!), these pancakes are beyond easy.  Eating foods just for pleasure (like pancakes) shouldn’t require animal suffering of any kind.  Once you make them, you will agree that it’s such an easy thing to change, you’ll wonder if it’s possible to live without dairy or eggs in any amount.  (Psst.  It is.)

I wouldn’t know about how they work on hangovers, though.

Marshmellow
Back-to-school Marshmallow Roast. Can you tell they’re related?
Camping
Ahhh…camping in the backyard again!
Civil War
Texian Market Days – A Civil War Breaks Out
Mosquito
Learning About Skeeters
Caterpillar
Tickly
Ferruginous
Ferruginous Hawk
Henna
A Wet Henna Tattoo at the Renaissance Festival

Mee-Maw's Healthed-up Vegan Not-Buttermilk Pancakes

  • Servings: 2-4
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/4 cups buttermilk soy, coconut, or almond milk + 1 Tbsp vinegar (or lemon juice)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed (Omega 3’s, vegans!)
  • 1 very ripe banana, peel removed
  • 1 tbsp melted butter coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg 1-1/2 tsp Ener-G egg replacer + 2 Tbsp water
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • -optional- 1 tsp cinnamon (or pumpkin pie spice)

Tools that might help:  small food processor, non-stick skillet or electric griddle, wide spatula

Directions:

  1. Measure the milk into a small bowl. I use a half-and-half combo most of the time, soy, coconut, or almond — whatever I have on hand. Add the vinegar and stir slightly and set aside to allow for coagulation.
  2. Preheat a non-stick skillet or griddle to a medium heat.  I set my induction burner and non-stick skillet to 5 (on a 1-10 scale).
  3. Whisk together in medium bowl the flours and flax.  Don’t worry about the measuring method; this recipe is very forgiving for over- or under-measuring.
  4. Blend together (better in a small food processor) the remaining ingredients starting with banana (brown skin is best!) and pulse a few times until smooth.
  5. Combine all three — the banana mixture on top of the flour, the milk after that.  Mix with a spoon without over-mixing.  It should be a little lumpy when mixed — this is okay!
  6. Spoon the batter onto the griddle into whatever size you like.  As the batter cooks, the bubble-holes made from the steam will eventually stop falling back onto themselves; flip it and cook just a bit longer, a few seconds.  Remove from heat.  You’ll get the hang of it.
  7. Leftovers refrigerate well and are easily warmed in the microwave or served cold for a quick treat.  Cheers!

Shannon @ DirtNKids Blog
http://www.dirtnkids.wordpress.com

12 thoughts on “Vegan Pancakes, October Captured

  1. We’ll have to give this recipe a try 🙂 We have a few tried and true vegan pancake recipes (coconut cranberry is our favorite), but we always love to try out new ones. Pancakes are our go-to dinner (and occasionally breakfast) when things seem to chaotic for anything else; quickest of the quick breads indeed!

    Like

    1. Applesauce instead of banana works almost as well; the cake comes out a little wetter. Also tried pumpkin…not a fan. Too dense. The banana is a just right texture, and sweetness. These are great for making ahead and taking on a hike! The ground flax seed adds a dimension as well.

      Just checked out your blog and followed. Happy to meet another nature-type family. Look forward to your next posts coming up on my reader. Cheers!

      Like

  2. I’m glad I went back and looked at this, Shannon, as I haven’t had pancakes since I went vegan about a year and a half ago, and I have been craving them lately. Here’s the big question: Since I live in a hick town in rural northern California, there is no egg substitute to be had ’round these parts. Do you think this recipe would work without it? Second, coconut oil is going to be a tough find. Would a tablespoon of melted Earth Balance vegan margarine work? Thanks in advance for your advice.

    Like

    1. Hi Uncle Guac. This recipe is so forgiving, I’m sure leaving out the egg replacer won’t change it much. If you have he ground flax seed (which is a must!), you can try making a “glop” that will suffice as the hold-together.

      Everyone loves my pancakes, vegans and non-vegans alike. There’s just no good reason to add the suffering in any amount. Cheers!

      Like

  3. Another wonderful and yummy post. Thank you!! And oh my gosh… those kids of yours are completely adorable and awesome! Great pics. Gotta ask… have you got a favorite vegan marshmallow brand? I haven’t roasted marshmallows in too long since I’ve heard many of the vegan brands just aren’t the same (but I need to do more research. So here’s me starting my research and hoping you’ve got a fave brand I can find too!) Hugs

    Like

    1. Sadly, those marshmallows are NOT vegan. This particular back-to-school roast was at a friend’s house; my kids do “as the Romans when in Rome” when they’re away from home. They just don’t go overboard. We know not a single other vegan family.

      Like

  4. Mmm…pancakes. I love how pancakes are so adaptable to just about any eating philosophy or dietary restriction. My brother makes them with teff flour to appease his stomach. My cousin makes them with just eggs and banana to appease her paleo. There are so many ways to enjoy a good pancake (and now you’ve made me want some!)

    Like

    1. I completely agree with that comment! So very versatile, these little cakes. Teff flour? I must do some research on that. It would good for me to have a gluten-free version for a couple of my kids’ friends who sleep over occasionally (and who can’t ingest it wheat). Did you notice the new blog look? I would treasure your feedback, good or no. Cheers!

      Like

      1. Since my old blog theme cost, and given that I’m spending less time here than I had at that time, I opted for a freebie. It’s nice to know that all looks well from your two viewing platforms. Feel free to let me know if it ever doesn’t. Thanks so much, A, for coming back to say so!

        Like

Say something. You know ya wanna.